In my prep for DragonCon I seem to have taken two steps forward and three steps back. My sister spent a week vacation going through her closets and doing spring cleaning. She ended up with 4+ garbage bags full of clothes she no longer wears. My sister and I are fairly close to the same size, so I was able to go through the bags and get a ton of clothes both for everyday and for cosplay. I walked away with the following:

  • The ENTIRE basis of my female Jack Harkness costume: skirt, shirts, and belt.
  • A skirt and shirt for my Steampunk costume, which has morphed into a Steampunk version of River Song.
  • A skirt for Batgirl

For pretty much everything, I now have stage 1 of the costume complete. Now it’s just accessories and footwear to get. I took some very poor self-portraits of where I stand now in everything but the Steampunk costume. Without my corset being in, the Steampunk costume is just a shirt and skirt, so I’m going to wait until the corset shows up to declare stage one complete. Without further ado, here are my first cosplays:

Batgirl Stage 1

Batgirl Stage 1

Female Captain Jack Harkness Stage 1

Female Captain Jack Harkness Stage 1

The only problem I have with either of these costumes is that the skirt for Batgirl is a little longer than what I wanted. My mom and I are going to be hemming it up a bit so that it doesn’t look quite so silly with tights underneath it.

Clearly, that’s the swag portion of today’s entry, but what happened for the setbacks you ask? Well… what didn’t happen? Last week, I ordered a Fujifilm Instax Mini 7s camera from a seller on eBay. I tried to win a couple of bids and never could actually win, so I gave up and ordered one buy it now. Today, I woke up to a message from the seller claiming the camera had “water damage” after they attempted to use it on the “waterproof” setting, which makes no sense, because as far as I know the camera has no such setting, and further I bought a NEW IN BOX camera. I’ve found a couple of other places to order from and as soon as I cancel my payment to the seller, I’m going to be placing another order. It just… irritates the crap out of me that this happened.

As for cosplay, I spent some time figuring out what to do about my eye wear for my cosplays. I simply cannot go without glasses and contacts aren’t an option for a couple of reasons: (1) I’m diabetic and IF for some reason my blood sugar goes up, everything dries out including my eyes. Dry eyes + contacts = fail. (2) I have severe allergies, and  allergens are attracted to contacts like bees to honey. So, I spent some time perusing ZenniOptical, chose glasses to compliment my costumes, and went to order them only to face some sort of programming error. For some reason, the order form doesn’t recognize the name fields as being filled in even though they are. Order not placed, which makes me nervous, because it can take almost three weeks for them to arrive.

On top of that, I stayed up late today to record my first episode of the Talk Nerdy To Me Podcast. After doing a few tests and eventually getting our Dropbox to sync and managing to get the audio together, my co-host Jason, sent me a text to let me know his microphone is a freaking mutant. It managed to pick up my voice in the background… through the headphones he had plugged into his phone. It’s crazy. So, we’re going to have to re-record the episode. Disappointment.

Despite all of today’s setbacks there are a few things that are still epic win. First, DragonCon has announced some newly confirmed guests: Billy Boyd aka Pippin and Alice freaking Cooper are going to be there. As the number on the count down gets smaller, I get more and more excited. ALSO, I’m looking forward to the release of The Dark Knight Returns. My local theater is doing a marathon of the newest Batman movies, and I already have my tickets. I’m using my Memorial Day floating holiday to take the day off. I honestly can’t come up with a better way to spend my Memorial Day.

